Rota, Spain April 20-26

I had a more business than pleasure trip recently to the beautiful country of Spain. More specifically, to the naval base there in Rota. It’s different than Italy, in that the base is actually shared. The U.S. is allowed to be on the Spanish Navy base so it’s not very American. They split the base mostly in half and all of it is beautiful. This is the first time I’ve been to a military base where the area right outside the gate is ALSO beautiful! Believe me that’s unique.

I spent 5 days in a Lean Six Sigma class to become a green belt. Sound like a foreign language? Yeah, it did to me too. It’s basically a problem solving methodology to either reduce waste or perfect a process. My problem solving tool box has grown exponentially since taking this class, although I must say a lot of it is common sense. Sometimes you just have to be reminded that even if something’s being done the way it’s always been done, it may be time to look at it in a different way.. .

I flew in on a Sunday, had dinner with my new friend (a civilian nurse from the hospital I had never met before) and from then on spent every night dining out with some of the wonderful people in class with me until we left the following Saturday. It was a ton of fun and we got to see some of the very attractive aspects of living in Rota. Future duty station? I’d be lying if I didn’t say it wasn’t on my mind…

IMG_4787

the little puddle jumper plane we took from madrid to jerez. jerez was about 30 minutes from rota. smallest plane i’ve had to take in a while!…

IMG_4791

points for the Navy Lodge room being pretty nice. I slept very well in that bed all week. I’m sure it had nothing to do with the fact that two pugs weren’t snuggling with me…

IMG_4792

my sitting room. i was feeling a bit spoiled.

IMG_4793

dinner after our first day of class. it was the best food i had all week!

IMG_4794

my wonderful friend Alaina. We worked together on the mother-baby ward in Portsmouth, VA. Her adorable daughter was enjoying some cartoons.

IMG_4795

best chicken kebab. and yes the sangria was delicious!

IMG_4796

on Wednesday our instructor allowed us to have a long lunch and go to the “gypsy market” it was a lot like the street markets in Italy.

IMG_4797 IMG_4798

feria dresses are very popular at the markets

IMG_4799

i REALLY wanted one… but i didn’t get it. I wasn’t sure how i’d get it home…

IMG_4800

LIVE snail… I took a video that’s hard for me to watch

IMG_4803 IMG_4806

i haven’t had a pedicure in a year and a half. although it wasn’t the best one i’ve ever had, it was still heavenly!

IMG_4807

me and my new friend amanda enjoying the spa day

IMG_4808

i was impressed with the beautiful flowers just growing right outside their NEX

IMG_4809

dinner at an irish pub on one of the nights

IMG_4810

you can tell you’re in europe when the futbol game comes on and the bar is instantly crowded with fans

IMG_4812

i did visit the hospital which was smaller than i espected. this wall of births i thought was pretty adorable

IMG_4817

out to lunch with the class group. they were such sweet people i felt very lucky that everyone got along

IMG_4820 IMG_4821

this was their venue for their Nurse Corps dinner. I was pretty jealous.

IMG_4822 IMG_4823 IMG_4824 IMG_4825

and then we went to their gorgeous beach. nice sand and not a cigarette to be found… must be nice!

IMG_4826 IMG_4828 IMG_4829 IMG_4831 IMG_4832 IMG_4833 IMG_4835 IMG_4836 IMG_4837 IMG_4839 IMG_4840 IMG_4842

on our way to dinner. there are wild horses just hanging out everywhere!

IMG_4843 IMG_4844

the sunset view from our table at dinner. just gorgeous

IMG_4845 IMG_4846 IMG_4847 IMG_4848 IMG_4849 IMG_4850 IMG_4851 IMG_4852 IMG_4853 IMG_4854

feral cats everywhere as well. this one is not so much different from Naples

IMG_4855 IMG_4856 IMG_4857 IMG_4858 IMG_4859

such a fun filled week. i wss very happy to come home to my familia though. they’re just too cute. i’d be happy to go to another class in Rota anytime!!

Leave a Reply

