Summer Recap

VIETRI, ITALY (TOWN AND BEACH)

ImageIMG_3118

  shopping

Shopping First….

IMG_3119IMG_3120

Then Lunch…

Our view from the restaurant

IMG_3121

This guy who time travelled from the 80’s. No really, you should have seen his sunglasses!

IMG_3122IMG_3123IMG_3124 IMG_3125

my first Italian beach experience

IMG_3126 IMG_3127IMG_3128IMG_3129IMG_3130the girls

me leah renee

I’ve been back to that town 3 times now! They are known for their ceramics so there is a pattern and set that I buy a little more of every time we go. The beach is relatively clean, and the gypsies sell us sunglasses for cheap 🙂

I love Vietri, can not wait for my mom to visit so I can make her buy ceramics 🙂

PATH OF THE GODS (BOMERANO TO POSITANO, ITALY)

Me and Leah decided to do this legendary trail that spans the Amalfi coast. It was killer. The path was really narrow at times and it was mostly dirt paths, rocks to climb, and a whole lot of stairs at the end!

This is the beginning of the trail. We finally found Bomerano and a place to park, then followed the signs to the start of the trail

1 sign 2 leah with sign 3 me with sign 4 beginning of hike 5 start of hike 6 before getting hot 7 before pic 8 coast

our view from the trail, not a bad sight

9 cliffs 10 info about path

some explanation of the trail along the way

11 old house

it would definitely be a journey and a hassle to have lived here!

12 cliffs and greenery 13 scenery 14 path 15 2 miles into the hike 16 high up

those rows in the background are farms! growing food! I don’t even know how, it’s crazy.

As you can see we’re not even halfway done with the trail and our faces are flushed! 17 cliffs 18 cove 19 me and leah 20 me and leah 21 farmers and water 22 leah hiking 23 leah hiking 24 leah hiking 25 me hiking 26 more hiking 27 still happy hiking

We ran into a farmer around this area who had buckets of blackberries and three dogs following him. He offered us some berries with a smile and continued on his way.

28 beautiful water view 29 boats 30 boat view 31 positano 32 almost to nocelle 33 view 34 view

we ran into an American couple who traded photography skills with us

35 camp area

there was a little grotto back here

36 view 37 cliff 38 water 39 top of the stairs

at the end of the trail, now we had to walk down about a million steps!

40 walking downstairs 41 scared at the sign

we’d already been walking down steps for an hour, and there were still 15 minutes left!!

 42 boats 43 taking a break 44 sitting on the rail 45 sitting on the stair rail

taking a break on the steps 46 closer to positano 47 figs and olives 48 at the bottom of 2 miles worth of stairs

finally at the bottom of the steps

49 cove 50 boats 51 view 52 in nocelle

Positano in the background. We made it!! 53 flowers and nocelle 54 ferry view 55 on the ferry

taking a ferry back to Bomerano instead of doing the climb back because our legs were shaking hard!

56 on the ferry 57 positano from the ferry 58 positano 59 back to amalfi 60 back to amalfi

What a beautiful trail and an amazing experience. Our legs hurt for days after that. One day I’ll do the trek from Positano to Bomerano instead, but maybe not for a while!

And then a few days later we decided to climb a volcano… I never claimed we were smart!

MOUNT VESUVIUS (THE VOLCANO)

DSC02023

It was a beautiful clear day, thank goodness!
DSC02024 DSC02025

still hurting from our Path of the Gods hike, but excited to climb the volcano

DSC02026 DSC02027 DSC02028 DSC02030 DSC02031 DSC02032 DSC02033 DSC02034 DSC02035 DSC02036

This is the crater of the volcano, it’s filled with dirt and debris. Last time it erupted was in 1944.

I’m glad it decided to stay un erupted while we were climbing it 🙂

DSC02037

This was the volcano that buried all the souls in the city of Pompeii
The city of Pompeii was an ancient Roman town-city near modern Naples in the Italian region of Campania, in the territory of the comune of Pompei. Pompeii, along with Herculaneum and many villas in the surrounding area, were mostly destroyed and buried under 4 to 6 m (13 to 20 ft) of ash and pumice in the eruption of Mount Vesuvius in 79 AD.

DSC02038 DSC02039 DSC02040 DSC02041 DSC02042 at the top background coast line crater mt vesuvius sign trekking up the volcano views volcano rock

We’ve climbed that volcano twice this summer. I’m sure we’ll do it again next summer! It’s a reasonably easy hike and has such beautiful views. I just hope it stays unerupted for a very long time!!!!!

BOATING to the beautiful island of ISCHIA!

DSC01953

our first boat ride in June!! I was coming off night shift…

DSC01954 DSC01958 DSC01959

Ben did this for most of the day and paid for it later with a terrible sunburn. i think our sunblock was expired :/

DSC01960 DSC01962

DSC01963arm scrape

trip number 2! we climbed a set of stairs ashley told me to be careful not to scrape myself like she did… i did it anyway. *sigh*
our matching scars…

beer in the water beer in water before cliff jumping cliff 1 cliff jumping

yup that’s me jumping from the cliff!!! scary and fun! i think once is enough though…

cliff everyone group in water me and ben in the water me and ben me and rene mud mask

these are our mud mask facials from the volcano mud in the hot spring pool 🙂

napoli to ischia 1 napoli to ischia on the boat pre cliff jump relaxing on the boat

no sunburn for ben this trip! I got sunburnt however… 😦

renee jo me renee me kyle

We had a lot of fun boating this summer. I already can’t wait to do it again next summer 🙂

ISCHIA SPAS

The lava underneath the volcanos produce hot springs and warm up the surrounding water around the islands. They say these thermal pools have healing and health benefits. So we took advantage 🙂

DSC02043 DSC02044

we saw a pug at the spa! he looks just like Galway but with a curlier tail 🙂 I hope he didn’t go in the water!

DSC02045 DSC02046 DSC02047 DSC02048 DSC02049 DSC02050 DSC02051 DSC02053 DSC02054 DSC02055 DSC02056 DSC02057 DSC02058 DSC02059 DSC02060 DSC02061 DSC02063 DSC02064

cave pool girls spa day in the pool in the water

the beach wasn’t so bad either! 🙂

thermal spa walk through pool

Wine Tasting in Avellino

There have been a lot of wine tastings and tours since our arrival in Italy, most of them I go without Ben which would be lonely if I didn’t have these lovely people!

babies on the floor grapes group 2 group in vineyard 2 group in vineyard group tasting wine group inside the store me and audrey 2 me and audrey 3 me and audrey 4 me and audrey 5 me and audrey me and joanna 2 me and joanna me and sam tasting the wine the group the vineyard the vino vineyard 2 vineyard 3 vineyard 4 vineyard grape sign vineyard sign vineyard

Lots of beaches and trips in between these adventures. Just wanted to share how beautiful Italy is in the summer (and hot)!
It’s just now starting to get cool out so we are loving it!

Not a bad first summer here in Naples 🙂

One thought on “Summer Recap

Leave a Reply

